Clearing the Controller Configuration

You can clear the configuration of a controller, if needed, to accommodate changes in your storage space. For example, you may want to clear a controller if you upgraded your hardware or if you plan to move the controller to another machine. Clearing the configuration destroys the controller meta-data, including logical device information, partition information, maxCache information, and so on. Once you clear the controller configuration, your online data is no longer accessible.
CAUTION:
When you clear a controller configuration, you lose all data stored on that controller. Be sure you no longer need the data on the controller before proceeding.

To clear the controller configuration:

  1. In the Enterprise View, select a system, then select a controller on that system.
  2. On the ribbon, in the Controller group, click Clear Configuration.

    A message window opens, warning that this operation destroys your data.

  3. Click OK to clear the configuration; click Cancel to close the window without clearing the configuration.

Email Address (optional):

Did this topic answer your question?

Strongly Agree
Agree
Neutral
Disagree
Strongly Disagree

Comments: