Choosing a RAID Level

This section provides a brief overview of the RAID levels supported by your Adaptec RAID controller, including the minimum and maximum number of disk drives required by each.

Note: Before you begin, familiarize yourself with your controller's physical features and the RAID levels that it supports (see Standard RAID Controller Features).
  • RAID 0 (Non-redundant Array)—Stripes data across multiple disk drives. Improved performance but no redundancy (see RAID 0).
  • RAID 1 Array—Created from two disk drives where one disk drive is a mirror of the other (the same data is stored on each disk drive). Redundancy, but reduced capacity (see RAID 1).
  • RAID 1E Array—Similar to a RAID 1 array except that data is mirrored and striped, and more disk drives can be included (see RAID 1E).
  • RAID 5 Array—Stripes data for improved performance and uses parity data to provide redundancy (see RAID 5).
  • (Adaptec Series 6 Controllers Only) RAID 5EE Array—Similar to a RAID 5 array, but includes a distributed spare and must include a minimum of four disk drives (see RAID 5EE).
  • RAID 10 Array—Built from two or more equal-sized RAID 1 arrays, stripes and mirrors data across multiple disk drives. Redundancy and improved performance (see RAID 10).
  • RAID 50 Array—Built from multiple disk drives configured as two or more RAID 5 arrays, stripes stored data and parity data across all disk drives (see RAID 50).
  • RAID 6 Array—Similar to a RAID 5 array except that it includes two independent sets of parity data instead of one (see RAID 6).
  • RAID 60 Array—Similar to a RAID 50 array except that it includes four independent sets of parity data instead of two (see RAID 60).

See Selecting the Best RAID Level to see how many disk drives you must connect to your RAID controller to support the RAID level you want.

Email Address (optional):

Did this topic answer your question?

Strongly Agree
Strongly Disagree